Review:: Wishful Thinking | Neck Deep

Neck Deep have done a good job at building themselves a reputation as one of the most promising up-and-comers. With two EP’s under the belt, their first album was the clear next step. With Wishful Thinking, the group takes that next step.

The album opens on the quick “Losing Teeth,” which instantly gets the blood pumping with homage to hometown friends that have been left behind. “Damsel in Distress” and “Crushing Grief (No Remedy)” quickly show signs of being early favorites, while “Mileage” and “Staircase Wit” may take a listen or two to grow on you before they stick.

Closer “Candour” is a true standout; a calm, violin-strung, ballot which soon grows into a beautiful duet supported by a shy, yet powerful female counterpart. What makes it special is how it stands apart from the rest of the tracks on Wishful Thinking, but it presence and prowess leave us wanting more. Which, as a closing track, is a brilliant move.

On their first full-length effort, Neck Deep kick off 2014 with a fast, fierce pop-punk album that shows that kids across the pond hate their hometowns as much as we do here.

Release Date: January 14th, 2014
Rating: 3.35/5
Runtime: ~28 minutes

Track list:
1. Losing Teeth
2. Crushing Grief (No Remedy)
3. Staircase Wit
4. Damsel in Distress
5. Zoltar Speaks
6. Growing Pains
7. Say What You Want
8. Mileage
9. Sweet Nothings
10. What Did You Expect?
11. Blank Pages
12. Candour

Written By: Eric Riley