Jukebox the Ghost and Twin Forks Release Free 2-Song Split EP

Jukebox the Ghost and Twin Forks hit the road together this past weekend! To celebrate their tour, the two bands have released a 2-song split EP covering each others singles! Did we mention its for free download?

Download the FREE split by clicking here!

Full tour dates are listed below!
Note – don’t miss Jukebox the Ghost on Conan, next Monday, January 26th!

Tour Dates
1.20 – Minneapolis, MN @ Varsity Theatre
1.21 – Omaha, NE @ Waiting Room
1.23 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
1.24 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Complex
1.27 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
1.28 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
1.30 –  San Francisco, CA @ Slim’s
1.31 – Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey Theatre
2.2 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar
2.3 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom
2.5 – Dallas, TX @ Trees
2.6 – Austin, TX @ The Parish
2.7 – Houston, TX @ Fitzgerald’s
2.9 – Lawrence, KS @ Granada Theater
2.11 – Cincinnati, OH @ Taft Theatre Ballroom
2.12 – Louisville, KY @ Headliner’s Music Hall
2.13 – Columbus, OH @ Skully’s
2.14 – Pittsburgh, PA  @ Mr. Small’s
2.26 – Burlington, VA @ Higher Ground Showcase Lounge
2.27 – Danbury, CT @ Heirloom Arts Theatre
2.28 – New York, NY @ Irving Plaza
3.4 – Portland, ME @ Port City Music Hall
3.5 – Boston, MA @ Paradise
3.6 – Ithaca, NY @ The Haunt
3.7 – Toronto, ON @ Virgin Mobile Club
3.10 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club

1.20 – 2.3 with  Twin Forks 
2.4 – 3.10 with Little Daylight

LOL Gallery:

Who: Citizen, Twin Forks, Local Natives, Bad Veins, and Envoi
What: Fashion Meets Music Festival, Part 1
When & Where: 8/29/14 – 8/31/14, Columbus Convention Center; Columbus, OH
ByCaitlyn Willard

For full gallery, click here!

Review:: Twin Forks | Twin Forks

Fans of Dashboard Confessional will love former DC-frontman Chris Carrabba’s new venture into Americana and folk rock with Twin Forks. Formed not too long ago, in 2011, Twin Forks beautifully combines male and female vocals, and essentially brings us back to American roots – with a modern twist, of course.  

While the band released an EP in 2013, this is their first full-length, debut album. Twin Forks the album has a handful of upbeat, catchy tunes and a hint of banjo-type twang that surprisingly doesn’t bother me… and I’m typically not the biggest fan of anything with twang. But the other portion of the album is a soft, almost romantic sound similar to some of Carrabba’s Dashboard Confessional. Makes sense to stick with a system that works, right? Regardless, Twin Forks as a whole is a melodic journey from start to finish that I enjoyed much more than I expected to. I’d even go so far to say that Twin Forks by Twin Forks is a great soundtrack for the impending summer. With music that is perfect for a late night bonfire with friends or driving with the windows down on a warm, sunny day, I wouldn’t have thought it to be anything less than this from Chris Carrabba.

Twin Forks is currently on tour to support the new album, and have tour dates through mid-May in the US and Canada.

Time Length: ~42 minutes
Rating: 5/5
Release Date: February 25, 2014

Track Listing:
1. “Can’t Be Broken”
2. “Cross My Mind”
3. “Back to You”
4. “Kiss Me Darlin”
5. “Scraping Up the Pieces”
6. “Something We Just Know”
7. “Danger”
8. “Reasoned and Roughened”
9. “Plans”
10. “Done Is Done”
11. “Come On”
12. “Who’s Looking Out”

Twin Forks is:
Suzie Zeldin (vocals and mandolin)
Jonathan Clark (bass)
Ben Homola (drums)
Chris Carrabba (vocals and guitar)

Written by Rachel Policano

Review:: Twin Forks EP | Twin Forks

I’ve reviewed several albums for Lucy Out Loud the last few months, but I’ve never been as excited to get the job done as I am now.  Twin Forks and their debut self-titled EP have been on my radar for a bit now because it is headed by Chris Carrabba of Dashboard Confessional and Further Seems Forever. The entire band may seem familiar to some of you as it is made up of Chris, Suzie Zeldin (The Narrative), Jonathan Clark, and Ben Homola (Bad Books). What might surprise some of you is that this is a folk band. The signs were there for Carrabba though given his tours and friendship with Cory Branan or the Covered in the Flood album that he released under his given name where he covered names like John Prine, Justin Townes Earle, and the aforementioned Branan.

The album kicks off with Back to You, a song that instantly clues you in on the style and sound you’ll be hearing over the length of this EP, but maintains all the things that make up a Chris Carrabba song. It is the perfect amount of catchy and folksy.  Something We Just Know is the next song and opens with some fingerpicking before finding a familiar groove. This trend continues with Cross My Mind, a song that clearly has a different vision but doesn’t seem wholly different than what Carrabba has been doing for years. That aside, it is a great fun song that I can’t help whistling and clapping along to.

Can’t Be Broken starts off similarly but manages to recover, hitting its stride with what you’d expect form a folk driven album.  Scraping up the Pieces is the final track on the album and sounds the most like it’s from a completely different band. It has almost an Irish folk cadence to it that works incredibly well.

Despite the similarities to past projects, all 5 songs are great.  When you have a name like Chris Carrabba attached to a new project, it’s nearly impossible to not compare it to his old work and ask “why”. While there is still some Dashboard in this album, and let’s be honest there may always be a hint, it is a great first step.  Twin Forks was only formed as a band this year, after over a decade of Dashboard Confessional and Further Seems Forever. There is absolutely promise with the sound that you can hear developing throughout the 5 song EP. I was excited to listen to this album and now I’m excited to hear more.

Release Date: September 17th, 2013
Rating: 4/5
Runtime: ≈15 minutes

Track List:
Back to You
Something We Just Know
Cross My Mind
Can’t Be Broken
Scraping Up the Pieces

Twin Forks is:
Chris Carrabba – Guitar / Vocals
Suzie Zeldin – Mandolin
Jonathan Clark – Bass
Ben Homola – Drums

Written By: Mark Northern