Review:: Resurrection | New Found Glory


“I’m just dust in the breeze, but I wanna be a hurricane.”

Reflections on personal growth and burnt bridges accentuate New Found Glory’s eighth studio album, aptly titled Resurrection. Combining catchy hooks and a sound that is distinctly ‘pop punk,’ NFG solidifies their spot as top dogs in their genre with this solid release.

Addictive choruses and anthemic verses are sure to have listeners at least bobbing their heads through their first time through. The album starts powerful with “Selfless” before changing the tempo with “Angel.” However, the monumentum never slows down, as the band presents the album’s thesis in “Stubborn”, proclaiming, “I’m not trying to win you back, I’m not on my knees. I’m just owe you this much: I’m not holding grudges anymore.”

With very few misses, sly digs and strong instrumentals make Resurrection a must listen for fans of the pop punk genre.

Release Date: October 7th, 2014
Rating: 3.5/5
Runtime: ~42 minutes
Check out: “Stubborn”, “Persistent”

01. Selfless
02. Resurrection
03. The Worst Person
04. Ready and Willing
05. One More Round
06. Vicious Love
07. Persistent
08. Stories of a Different Kind
09. Degenerate
10. Angel
11. Stubborn
12. Living Hell
13. On My Own

Written by Carina Browder