Want to win Night Riots’ new EP? [CLOSED]


We’ve teamed up with Night Riots to give away a copy of their latest EP, Howl! This EP debuted at number 17 on Billboard’s Heatseekers Chart and has been making its way up SiriusXM Alt Nation’s Alt 18 Countdown (currently at #2)! 

To enter: retweet this post and follow us on twitter! That’s it!

You can catch these guys on the road this summer at the Big Guava Music Festival and select dates of the Vans Warped Tour!

Review:: When I Was Younger | Colony House

Colony House has made their public debut in a big way with their catchy single “Silhouettes” debuting #1 on Sirius XM’s Alt Nation. The group’s first full-length album, When I Was Younger, delivers nostalgic lyrics of young love, personal struggles and downfalls, and of course, heartbreak. This is the perfect album when you need a nice slice of motivation as each track has a way of creating a unique, personal experience with any listener. As light hearted and easygoing as the vibes may be, the raw lyrics penetrate deep with each listen.

The group from Nashville masters the art of balancing what could be corny, pop love songs and lyrics with unexpected and exciting sounds that subtly resemble 80s electronic elements mixed with classic rock, especially through the tracks “Roll With the Punches” and “Learning How To Love.” Dream-like melodies flow from the vocals of Caleb Chapman infused with rock and roll elements from the guitar and drums to give this album the ability to appeal to a range of different listeners, from the more mainstream pop/alternative listener to something classic rock lovers can appreciate as well.

The tracks “2:20” and “Keep On Keeping On” introduce the rowdy pure rock angst while adding a tinge of a raw, gritty vocal sound that differs from the usual soft and pensive vocals heard on the rest of the album. When it comes to contrasting hard and soft, Colony House nails it, as feelings of positivity and motivation emerge even through the more melancholy, slow tracks such as “Won’t Give Up,”“Moving Forward,” and “Glorious.” For a debut album, Colony House deems to be a promising group by their careful attention to detail when crafting each track, giving each song its own identity, making sure each has its own flare.

Release Date: July 22nd 2014
Rating: 3.5/5
Runtime: ~44 min

Track Listing
1. Silhouettes
2. Second Guessing Games
3. When I Was Younger
4. Caught Me By Surprise
5. Roll With the Punches
6. Keep On Keeping On
7. Waiting for My Time to Come
8. 2:20
9. Learning How to Love
10. Won’t Give Up
11. Moving Forward
12. Glorious
13. I Had to Grow Up
14. Lose Control

Written by Kelsey Rzepecki