Striking Matches Announce Debut Album

Nashville duo, Striking Matches, are making strides these days and have a promising year ahead of them! If you’re a fan of ABC’s Nashville, there’s a chance that you’ve heard these guys before considering eight of their songs have been featured on the show. Yes, we did say eight! 

The band recently announced their debut album, Nothing But The Silence, will be released on March 24th via Newly Revived I.R.S. To pre-order the album, click here.

Below you can find the artwork and track listing for the album!

Track List:
1) Trouble Is As Trouble Does
2) Make A Liar Out Of Me
3) Nothing But The Silence
4) Hanging On A Lie
5) Never Gonna Love Again
6) When The Right One Comes Along
7) What A Broken Heart Feels Like
8) Miss Me More
9) Like Lovers
10) Missing You Tonight
11) God And You

Review:: When I Was Younger | Colony House

Colony House has made their public debut in a big way with their catchy single “Silhouettes” debuting #1 on Sirius XM’s Alt Nation. The group’s first full-length album, When I Was Younger, delivers nostalgic lyrics of young love, personal struggles and downfalls, and of course, heartbreak. This is the perfect album when you need a nice slice of motivation as each track has a way of creating a unique, personal experience with any listener. As light hearted and easygoing as the vibes may be, the raw lyrics penetrate deep with each listen.

The group from Nashville masters the art of balancing what could be corny, pop love songs and lyrics with unexpected and exciting sounds that subtly resemble 80s electronic elements mixed with classic rock, especially through the tracks “Roll With the Punches” and “Learning How To Love.” Dream-like melodies flow from the vocals of Caleb Chapman infused with rock and roll elements from the guitar and drums to give this album the ability to appeal to a range of different listeners, from the more mainstream pop/alternative listener to something classic rock lovers can appreciate as well.

The tracks “2:20” and “Keep On Keeping On” introduce the rowdy pure rock angst while adding a tinge of a raw, gritty vocal sound that differs from the usual soft and pensive vocals heard on the rest of the album. When it comes to contrasting hard and soft, Colony House nails it, as feelings of positivity and motivation emerge even through the more melancholy, slow tracks such as “Won’t Give Up,”“Moving Forward,” and “Glorious.” For a debut album, Colony House deems to be a promising group by their careful attention to detail when crafting each track, giving each song its own identity, making sure each has its own flare.

Release Date: July 22nd 2014
Rating: 3.5/5
Runtime: ~44 min

Track Listing
1. Silhouettes
2. Second Guessing Games
3. When I Was Younger
4. Caught Me By Surprise
5. Roll With the Punches
6. Keep On Keeping On
7. Waiting for My Time to Come
8. 2:20
9. Learning How to Love
10. Won’t Give Up
11. Moving Forward
12. Glorious
13. I Had to Grow Up
14. Lose Control

Written by Kelsey Rzepecki

Review:: Fathoms | Vinyl Thief

Ever since the 2012 release of Rebel Hill – EP, the wait for Vinyl Thief’s first album release has been tantalizing, and it is finally here. Based in Nashville, Tennessee, Vinyl Thief is a group of self-taught musicians storming the indie-rock and electronica community. Their debut album Fathoms showcases a beautiful blend of lead singer Grayson Proctor’s edgy vocals fused with electrifying synth beats.  The band has put together ten songs that add a little bit of rock and little bit of EDM to everyone’s library.

After listening to Fathoms, it’s hard to believe the quartet started out in an old church sanctuary.  Fathoms is like an intimate concert between you and Vinyl Thief.   Every song starts off with its own signature electronic beat pulling you into Proctor’s trance-like voice, then soars into a loud and edgy chorus.  The album has an incredible flow as you transition from track to track, coming together to form a dynamic electro-rock story.

From slow, dreamy to upbeat, edgy tunes, Fathoms gives you an eclectic number of options to listen to. The instant hit “Middle of the Night” makes you feel like you’re about to embark on an adventure as the grittiness in Proctor’s vocals launches you into unexpected bass drop. The acoustic driven “London”plays with the lead singer’s killer wide range, and makes you want to visit London, England for real. The first verse of the song depicts the relaxing and mellow aura of taking in your first sight of London. Then an unexpected chorus expresses the liveliness and excitement that washes over when you get to the heart of the city.  Another track worth mentioning is “Rebel Hill” where the band experiments with their Nashville roots by adding a flair of blues to it.  While it is subtly mixed into song, it actually ties the whole song together and gives it a more rock n’ roll vibe.

Bands who can successfully blend the distinctness of indie rock and electronic music are few and far between. Vinyl Thief helps close the gap with their unique approach in Fathoms.  The band can easily fit in at indie music festivals and giant EDM concerts. Though the album stills needs a little more input of Grayson Proctor’s gritty side, Vinyl Thief has delivered an exceptionally solid first full length album.  As long as Vinyl Thief can keep their indie rockiness in harmony with their electronic style, it won’t be much of a surprise to see them playing sold out shows soon.

Release Date: July 22nd, 2014
Rating: 4/5
Runtime: ~36 minutes
Recommended Tracks: Middle of the Night, London

Track listing:
1. Fathoms
2. Smooth
3. London
4. Faces
5. Slow Down
6. Middle of the Night
7. Compact
8. Rebel Hill
9. Stop Motion
10. Alright


Colony House To Release First Full-Length Album On July 22nd

The indie-rock trio from Nashville will be releasing their first full-length album via Descendant Records on July 22nd! 

You can pre-order the album now via iTunes and receive a free download of the first single “Silhouettes,” HERE.

Below is the album art and track listing!

When I Was Younger Track Listing:
1.      Silhouettes
2.      Second Guessing Games
3.      When I Was Younger
4.      Caught Me By Surprise
5.      Roll With The Punches
6.      Keep On Keeping On
7.      Waiting For My Time To Come
8.      2:20
9.      Learning How To Love
10.    Won’t Give U
11.    Moving Forward
12.    Glorious
13.    I Had To Grow Up
14.    Lose Control