Download ‘Cant Let Go’ by Heavens Basement for FREE over on Rolling Stone!

Download ‘Cant Let Go’ by Heavens Basement for FREE over on Rolling Stone!

Review:: The Peter Sparker Mixtape | Spose

It’s pretty safe to say that when we think about hip-hop, all of our minds instantly think of white dudes from Maine, right? No? Oh, hm. Well, if that’s not the case, then that’s probably a reason Ryan Peters, AKA Spose, stands out. The 27-year-old Gold-certified rapper’s most recent mixtape, Peter Sparker, was released at midnight on June 10th. All dick jokes and weed puns aside, there’s a lot worth checking out.
The mixtape starts with “Salami,” which Peters has tweeted his own personal praises about, saying that some of his favorite lines are on the intro track. And as a Bruins fan, a shout-out to the black-and-yellow is a bonus point. A short sample from a newscast introducing “The King of Maine” leads into the next track, of that title, which has Spose impressively sprinting through verses.

“All R’s” is just that – it’s all R’s. And really, it’s ridiculously radical. (see what I did there?) The track slows down into soft piano keys and a lightly plucked acoustic guitar with mumbled vocals before picking back up and dropping right into “03 Altima.” The track is solid, but the ending made me contemplate a few things – apparently life isn’t all about getting drunk and eating chicken fingers. How depressing.

Chris Webby’s guest spot on “In Your Dreams” adds even more to a track that already shimmers. My personal favorite, “Bob Johnson,” as well as “Nineteen,” both have poppier vibes and are extremely upbeat, with guest vocalists singing through the choruses. “Fresh Raps” drops in with a huge, hotel lounge-like guitar riff, and while it barely reaches the two-minute mark, it’s one of the best examples of Spose’s speed, cleverness, and all-around skill.

Here’s the thing: I don’t really know how to grade a hip-hop album. I could base the score off of how much I enjoyed it, but that’s not what it’s supposed to be. I was entertained the entire time, which is always a good sign. And I could definitely recognize his abilities and whatnot, so here’s what I’ll do – I definitely recommend the record, so go check it out; I’ll leave the grading up to all of you.

Release Date: June 10th, 2013
Rating: /5
Runtime: 49:25

1. “Salami”
2. “The King of Maine”
3. “All R’s”
4. “’03 Altima”
5. “I’m Starving”
6. “In Your Dreams (feat. Chris Webby)”
7. “Hipsterlude”
8. “The People’s Douche”
9. “Nineteen (feat. Max Cantlin)”
10. “Cows Come Home”
11. “Fresh Raps”
12. “Still Bimpin’”
13. “Bob Johnson”
14. “I’m Done”

The Peter Sparker Mixtape can be downloaded at a name your own price by clicking here.
Written By: Eric Riley

want an easier way to listen to our FREE compilation?

it is now uploaded onto SoundCloud where you can not only listen to the song, but you can download each song individually. to do so, follow this link –>

to download the album in its entirety, follow this link –>

and lastly, to check out our digital booklet, follow this link –>


our first compilation is currently up for free download!

i deleted the old folder and posted a brand spankin’ new one that is hopefully a bit better.

for 21 FREE tracks from bands not only from all over the country, but from the UK as well, click here!