Show Review:: Love Train Tour 6/7

Love Train Tour, Pt 2
Tuesday, June 7, 2016
New York, NY
Written by Jon Hecht, Photos by Gina Garcia

I’ve lived in New York City for 6 years now. It’s a city of the interlocking concrete grid, the Great White Way, the screech of subway brakes, and some not-bad dive bars that sometimes have good music. I realize that people who don’t live in this city are probably sick of people living here ranting about how great it is, especially considering how much it’s also what happens when a bunch of exceedingly rude cockroaches all start arguing about who has the best pizza.

But there’s a part of this metropolis that is somehow overlooked, despite all the annoying people talking about how great this overcrowded rat maze is. It’s interwoven by water. I’m obsessed with it. I have a roommate who works with boats, and most of my life is just living vicariously through her. I have a book called Gotham Unbound sitting on my coffee table, tracing the history of the city’s waterways ever since the Dutch came to this swamp. I have on numerous occasions read the Walt Whitman poem, “Mannahatta,” and relished in his version of an old (olde?) New York, when it was a “City of hurried and sparkling waters! city of spires and masts!/City nested in bays! my city!

I guess that all of this is a roundabout way of saying that I really enjoyed seeing Nikki’s Wives and CeeLo Green on a boat in the Hudson River.

Continue reading Show Review:: Love Train Tour 6/7

DARIUSTX Announces New Album

DARIUSTX, the side project of singer/songwriter and composer Darius Holbert, has announced his fifth studio new album, DARIUSTX V. The Angels of Goliad. The album, which is 17 tracks long (yes, you read that correctly), is set to be released on December 11th. This has been an album in the works for years with help from Ryan Rees (CeeLo Green, The Ting Tings) and Adam Boose (Dawes, Conor Oberst, The Velvet Underground). 

When discussing the album, Darius shared, “this album showcases some of my best friends and family, who also happen to be some of the top A-list studio talent in LA, including the incredible voices of Nicole Britton and Caroline Wilson. This album trends towards Americana and leans more heavily on my Texas and Louisiana roots.“ Fans can pre-order the upcoming album by clicking here!

Below you can find the artwork and track listing for DARIUSTX V. The Angels of Goliad.

1. In the Shadow of the Death-Bird’s Wing
2. The Dirge
3. Dark Blues
4. Wildfire Waltz
5. Back of Beyond
6. El Dream Canción
7. Brokedown Junk
8. A Good Horse
9. Ma Petite Chère
10. West TX Moon
11. Godmother Erline’s Kitchen
12. Dancing Shoes
13. Way Back When (Original) – [explicit]
14. Walk These Floors
15. Paris – [explicit]
16. Those Wildest Minutes With You  
17. Goodnight, Buckaroo