Cloud Cult Announce Concept Album and Feature Length Film

Eight-person supergroup, Cloud Cult, will be releasing their tenth full-length studio album and new feature film, The Seeker, this February! Yes, you read that right, the band is releasing the two at the same time. The feature film, which stars Josh Radnor (How I Met Your Mother) – who is also an executive producer of the film – and Alex McKenna (What Women Want), is truly unique as it will have no dialogue. Instead, the story will be told through moving images and the album’s 11 tracks, each song representing a ‘chapter’ of the movie.

Know what else is unique about this dual release? The album is the first to be recorded in its entirety in Cloud Cult’s own solar powered Earthology Records studio in the remote woods of Wisconsin. The tracks were mastered by Jeff Lipton (Arcade Fire, Bon Iver, Wilco) while the story-line for the film was written by Cloud Cult’s own Craig Minowa. “I’ve scored music to over a dozen feature films,” says Minowa, “but this project kind of went the opposite direction, where the album and story was written, and then we had to sculpt the visuals and screenplay around that.”

Fans who are interested in pre-ordering the album/film get a special treat! Pre-order participants get access to The Seeker with the ability to download a new song and view a new “chapter” of the film every week from November 13th through the February release. They’ll also receive an All Access online pass that will give them a gateway to behind-the-scenes footage and exclusive merchandise. An even better reason to pre-order? Profits of the pre-order campaign will be donated to environmental charities! So what are you waiting for? Go pre-order the album here, now!

Review: The Wars At Home | Carbon Tigers

For those who like: The National, Grizzly Bear, Bon Iver, Death Cab for Cutie

Carbon Tigers have been busy working hard, dedicating time and improving upon past releases. They are ready to taken on the world. After a slight set back in 2012 with most of the bands equipment getting stolen (an estimated $30,000 worth) and no leads of where it could have gone, the band called to its fans to help them raise money to continue on. After raising a substantial amount of money with help from their fans, Carbon Tigers are back and better than ever. To see a band work so diligently to continue on and not let a troubling event hold them back is a noble feat.

The Wars at Home is five tracks of swirling pop with grittier rock elements entwined to give it a sleek sensual feel. You can hear all the effort put into the new album as you listen to the first track entitled “Everybody Else.” The band has a warm feel that rushes over you as you immerse yourself in the EP that spans just less than twenty minutes. With the velvety and lush vocals of Chris Wienke, you listen to him illustrate the issues of change and growth as the songs play.

The album is a mix up and revival of all the albums that we yearn to hear. Carbon Tigers have a sound that is familiar yet new, which makes them something comfortable and different at the same time. Each track is a new story and feeling waiting to be explored. The lyrics are relatable and not far-fetched, which can make it even more pleasurable to listen to.

Hailing from Chicago, the four piece have taken the help of music veterans such as Charlie Dresser, Mike Watts and Ed Brooks to shape the sound of the new album in a different way than previous endeavors. Overall, the EP has more of chilled out rock vibe, but the last track and my personal favorite “The Harvest” takes on a more aggressive approach with glittering guitars and intense percussion to create a different feel than the rest of the album. All will reach eargasm while listening.  You can tell that Carbon Tigers have a new refreshed method to making albums, and it shows throughout their entire EP.

Release Date: November 19
Rating: 4/5
Run Time: 19:31

Track list:
1. Everybody Else
2. The Wars at Home
3. Ishmael
4. Queen
5. The Harvest

Band Members:
Chris Wienke (singer/keys/guitar)
Nick Cudone (guitar/keys/vox)
Aaron Sweatt (bass/guitar/vox)
Darien Williams (drums/vox)

Written By: Chelsea Conte