Show Review: Taking Back Tuesday 4/19


Emo Night LA: Taking Back Tuesday
Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Hell, The Masquerade; Atlanta, GA

After a year of watching friends on the West Coast attend Emo Night, I was beyond excited to see Taking Back Tuesday finally head south to Atlanta on April 19. Bringing together a few hundred 20-somethings, the night was filled with the songs that made us cry and feel things as teens. Despite the night getting off to a shaky start – I never want to hear “club goin’ up on a Tuesday” ever again – it was Fall Out Boy’s “Sugar, We’re Goin’ Down” that got the party started. Which, for anyone who knows me, is the perfect way to
start a party.

As the Emo Night crew spun hits by Hawthorne Heights, Say Anything, and other hitmakers from the mid-2000s, scattered expletives and raised drinks could be heard and seen as former scene kids recognized the songs of their youth. The invitation to take the stage was taken advantage of as several people made themselves stage regulars to lead singalongs while reaching out to grab hands and going all out to perform to old favorites, like “Seventy Times Seven,” “The Black Parade,” and more. I took advantage of this myself on multiple occasions, fulfilling a dream of mine to sing “Misery Business” on
stage (with a handful of strangers, no biggie) and turning up to Panic! At the
Disco’s breakout, “I Write Sins, Not Tragedies.” Here’s a picture to prove it – taken by Ryan Purcell.

Other highlights of the night included a pit starting on stage to “Fat Lip,” a dancer popping and tutting all night, and a rousing singalong to MCR featuring a dude dressed in his best bulletproof vest.

A few internet celebs were in attendance, such as Aaron Chewning and Sara Hopkins, but it was Cartel’s drummer and Atlanta native Kevin Sanders’ presence that got the crowd hyped as “Honestly” rang through the speakers.

Though Emo Night boasts merch with slogans like “Sad as Fuck” or “ride or cry,” I left in higher spirits than I came. Even though the music still gets to me and makes me emotional from time to time, there’s nothing like being in a room full of people who feel the same way as you, singing the songs that said what you needed to hear as a teenager. For just a moment, everyone was back in high school and thoughts about bills, work, and school were tossed aside to dust off lyrics memorized back in the days of straightened hair and studded belts.

Needless to say, Taking Back Tuesday’s first night in Atlanta was one to remember. Hands down.

Review:: Boroughs | Boroughs


Full of regrets and recollections of heartbreak, Boroughs’
self-titled release is an honest, introspective look at internal dialogue
during hard nights. Though this description may make the EP seem dismal,
there’s an underlying theme of hope in each of the tracks on the six-song

In opening track “Keep it Up,” singer Kyle Neal repeats
“Nothing’s quite as bad” as the song closes out. The line comes off as a
personal mantra and reminder rather than a statement that’s meant to be
believed. The afterthought of “…until it is,” feels almost like defeat, but a
defeat that’s accepted based wholly on Neal’s delivery.

This cycle of guessing and second-guessing keeps on through the
rest of the EP, even more so in standout, “Stay With Me.” A wistful track
accented by spacey acoustic guitar work, the third song brings to light the
doubts of the first half and is the first of the selections that seem to dispel
some of the doubts of the internal dialogue.

Finishing out strong with final track “Enough,” the mood of the
EP pulls an about-face. Beginning with a rousing chorus, the themes in “Enough”
of acceptance and optimism are sure to stick in the minds of listeners even
after they move on to the next selection. Though Boroughs’ brand of
indie-folk-meets-alt-country may not be everyone’s cup of tea, it’s the
relatability factor that will have even casual listeners finding something
within the songs that resonates with them.

Release Date: December 4, 2015
Rating: 4/5
Runtime: ~25 minutes
Check Out: “Stay With Me”, “Give it Time”

Track listing:
1. Keep It Up
2. Alive
3. Stay With Me
4. Give it Time
5. Anytime
6. Enough

Written by Carina Browder

Carina’s Top Songs of 2015

2015 went by so quickly for me that I genuinely forgot what releases came out this year. Looking back, 2015 wasn’t my favorite year in music, but it was a year full of solid releases from Big Sean’s heartfelt memorial to his grandmother in “One Man Can Change the World” to Carly Rae Jepsen’s spotless pop jams. While nearly every best of list has Kendrick Lamar on it, it’s hard to ignore the impact of To Pimp a Butterfly, the juggernaut of the year. While Butterfly certainly packed a punch, artists like Adia Victoria and Angel Haze charmed listeners with honest lyricism in what may be some of the most underrated releases of the year.

Indie pop artists Halsey, Melanie Martinez, and Troye Sivan covered the latter months of the year with concept albums that weren’t necessarily game changers, but ones that told stories of love and loss one wouldn’t expect from someone so young. Though I’m more likely to remember this year for the memes than Hilary Duff’s comeback moment, these are the artists I’m hoping to see more from in the new year. Check out my playlist below!

1. “Alright” – Kendrick Lamar

2. “Losing Myself” – State Champs

3. “Palm Reader” – The Wonder Years

4. “Moonrise Kingdom” – Angel Haze

5. “Gasoline” – Halsey

6. “Fools” – Troye Sivan

7. “Soap” – Melanie Martinez
8. “One Man Can Change the World” – Big Sean

9. “Michael” – theSAGAS

10. “Howling Shame” – Adia Victoria

11. “Fourth of July” – Fall Out Boy

12. “Bella Disorder” – Better Off

13. “24 Floors” – The Maine
14. “Crowns and Castles” – ASPIRE

15. “Trap Tears” – Raury

16. “Daffodils” – Babeo Baggins

17. “Dead Guy” – Dog Party

18. “Bad Seed” – Beach Weather

19. “Warm Blood” – Carley Rae Jepsen
20. “Confetti” – Hilary Duff

Review:: Postcards From The Edge: Chapter 1. Delta 32 | Ionia

Ionia’s latest, “Postcards From the Edge: Chapter 1. Delta 32”, challenges their listeners to open their minds and see the world for what it is. The 5-song EP, which was released on February 1, comes for greed, blind faith, and materialism, which vocalist Blaise Beyhan calls the “leading force in American pop culture today.”

Standout “I Hate Long Pretentious Titles and I’m a Hypocrite” serves as a great hook into an EP that oozes cynicism directed at complacency and current culture. The dynamic sound created by Pete Valentini (bass), Vince Quinones (drums), Ome Wald (guitar) and Jared Anthony (guitar) combined with Beyhan’s raspy vocals, come together to form a product rooted in conscious thought masked by repetition. Despite the stream of consciousness that the band desires to convey throughout the EP, the offering is enjoyable on a shallow level as well. With each song taking a different direction, Ionia is
sure to provide a little something for everyone.

Release Date: February 1, 2015
Rating: 3/5
Runtime: ~21 minutes
Check out: “We Shall Overcome”, “Idea”

Track listing:
1. I Hate Long Pretentious Titles and I’m a Hypocrite
2. Idea
3. We Shall Overcome
4. Spitting in the Eyes of Defeat
5. Bitter